• neiwpcc rotator image 1
  • neiwpcc rotator image 2
  • neiwpcc rotator image 3
  • neiwpcc rotator image 4
  • neiwpcc rotator image 5
  • neiwpcc rotator image 6
  • neiwpcc rotator image 7
  • neiwpcc rotator image 8
  • neiwpcc rotator image 9
neiwpcc banner
68 Years Working for Clean Water: 1947 through 2015
Mission Commissioners Staff History Serving Our States Workgroups Contact Us Directions Feedback

NEIWPCC | Commissioners


Since NEIWPCC's formation in 1947, our Commissioners have played a critical role in setting the organization's priorities, evaluating staff programs and projects, and representing their state's interests. NEIWPCC is overseen by 35 Commissioners—five from each member state—who are appointed by their state governors. (The number of NEIWPCC Commissioners from each state can vary from year to year due to the gubernatorial appointment process.) A state's delegation typically consists of the heads of its environmental and health agencies, who generally designate representatives to attend NEIWPCC meetings on their behalf, supplemented by three highly experienced individuals from outside state government. This approach provides the Commission with diverse, expert leadership.

Meetings involving all of NEIWPCC's Commissioners are held three times a year. We typically hold five meetings annually of our Executive Committee, which consists of the heads of our member states' environmental agencies or their representatives.

Each year, our Commissioners elect a chair and vice-chair, with these officer positions rotating between the states to ensure equal representation. The vice-chair generally ascends to chair after each has served two one-year terms. The current officers are listed below, followed by links to access information on the NEIWPCC Commissioners from each of our member states.

Commissioners by State


Yvonne Bolton

Yvonne Bolton has worked at the Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection since 1985 and is currently chief of the Bureau of Materials Management and Compliance Assurance. She oversees a wide variety of program areas including regulation and legislative development, coastal permitting and enforcement, solid and hazardous waste permitting, agency data integration and information management, and water quality management. Bolton is responsible for the bureau's industrial, stormwater, and subsurface discharge programs; materials management programs; and emergency response and spill prevention programs. She has a J.D. and an M.A. in Environmental Law from Vermont Law School and a B.S. in Environmental Conservation from the University of New Hampshire.

Bethany Card

Bethany Card joined MassDEP in 2011 and now serves as deputy commissioner for Policy and Planning. Previously, she spent 14 years at NEIWPCC, serving for most of that time as our director of water quality programs; she managed staff and projects in areas ranging from wetlands protection to mercury reduction. In 2009, EPA New England presented Card with a prestigious Environmental Merit Award for her work on the Northeast Regional Mercury TMDL. She currently serves as co-chair of the Association of Clean Water Administrators' Legal Affairs Committee and is a member of the Massachusetts Bar Association. She received her J.D. from the Massachusetts School of Law and B.A. in Political Science from the University of New Hampshire.

Richard Kotelly

Since 1995, Richard Kotelly has been NEIWPCC's Treasurer, a position to which he brings a wealth of experience. Early in his career, he designed navigation projects along the coasts of Massachusetts and Maine for the New England District of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. He then worked for nearly 30 years at the Federal Water Pollution Control Administration and its successor organization, EPA, in the Boston regional office. As deputy director of the Water Management Division, Kotelly's managerial responsibilities included serving as EPA's chief engineer on the planning, design, and construction of the MWRA's $3.5 billion wastewater treatment project on Deer and Nut Islands in Boston Harbor. Kotelly received an M.S. in Sanitary Engineering from Northeastern University and a B.S. in Civil Engineering from MIT.

| Home | About Us | Contact Us | Back to Top | ©1997-2015 New England Interstate Water Pollution Control Commission; Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont